The Last Days of Magic

The Last Days of Magic

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
1
What became of magic in the world? Who needed to do away with it, and for what reasons? Drawing on myth, legend, fairy tales, and Biblical mysteries, "The Last Days of Magic" brilliantly imagines answers to these questions, sweeping us back to a world where humans and magical beings co-exist as they had for centuries. Aisling, a goddess in human form, was born to rule both domains and, with her twin, Anya, unite the Celts with the powerful faeries of the Middle Kingdom. But within medieval Ireland interests are divided, and far from its shores greater forces are mustering. Both England and Rome have a stake in driving magic from the Emerald Isle. Jordan, the Vatican commander tasked with vanquishing the remnants of otherworldly creatures from a disenchanted Europe, has built a career on such plots. But increasingly he finds himself torn between duty and his desire to understand the magic that has been forbidden. As kings prepare, exorcists gather, and divisions widen between the warring clans of Ireland, Aisling and Jordan must come to terms with powers given and withheld, while a world that can still foster magic hangs in the balance. Loyalties are tested, betrayals sown, and the coming war will have repercussions that ripple centuries later, in today's world, and in particular for a young graduate student named Sara Hill.
Publisher: New York : Viking, 2016
ISBN: 9780525429531
0525429530
Characteristics: xii, 384 p. : ill. ; 24 cm
Alternative Title: Last days of magic : a novel

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
laurendouglass Jan 18, 2019

If you can stomach the violence in Game of Thrones and enjoy reading historical fiction (specifically anything set in Great Britian), The Last Days of Magic is worthy of your time.  The magic in the title is a bit misleading, as this book is not a read-alike for fans of Deborah Harkness' All Souls Trilogy, Lev Grossman's  Magician novels, and certainly not Harry Potter.  Rather, Tompkins book is about the many magical creatures that once roamed the Earth and are now fighting to survive in the kingdom of Ireland.  This novel also boasts a strong female protagonist so if you are in the mood for a bloody historical epic with girl power, you are in luck.

s
Shelli68
Dec 22, 2016

Absolutely loved this book! Adventure, romance, you name it, it's in there!

k
kss3708
Apr 15, 2016

This was a really fascinating book actually - fictional, yes - but with enough stuff based in folklore and in history that it really makes you wonder. Truly a great story telling of a possibility that’s for sure and it’s certainly one that anyone who believes in magic would thoroughly enjoy. Actually, you don’t even have to believe in magic to enjoy this story - it’s just a fun look at the possibilities of the past that can’t be verified one way or the other but lends an wonderful elastic viewpoint to the lens of the past!

I thought the story structure was a little odd at first - starting with a modern day event that abruptly ends with a murder at the end of the first chapter and ‘magically’ starts into the past - 700 years past and no murders in immediate sight- the next, but it all makes sense in the end (as all good books should) as it jumps back to the event at the last chapter. This book-end treatment of the first and last chapters actually is a great set up for the true story and really gets you thinking about magic and the idea of magic and if it did exist or could exist in our modern age.

Focusing in on the magical land of Ireland and all the magical creatures it is purported to have you get introduced to the land of the past where they all exist and - of course - to the start of the end (as it were). It’s a formidable cast of characters and there were times when I had to dig deep to remember them (that’s what happens when you bring it on holidays and don’t pick it up as often as you should). My only complaint is that it got a little ‘Lord-of the Ringy’ with the continual battle sequences - but it’s an unfortunate fate of conquering the ‘enemy’ I suppose, so you’ve got to ride them through. And although it ends much as you suspect it will, there is still a wonderful surprise so hang in there!!!!!

A great story that makes me want to read up more on the Irish magic - well, magic in general anyways. I was ever so delighted that the author put a wonderful ‘Oh, by the way’ in at the end of it all on all the various characters he covers in the breadth of the woven story to show that they did exist and what their eventual historical end actually was. Very cool.

Age

Add Age Suitability
d
DanielleSharp
Nov 07, 2016

DanielleSharp thinks this title is suitable for 17 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at CALS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top