The Wheel of Time Companion

The Wheel of Time Companion

The People, Places, and History of the Bestselling Series

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Since its debut in 1990, The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan has captivated millions of readers around the globe with its scope, originality, and compelling characters. Over the course of fifteen books and millions of words, the world that Jordan created grew in depth and complexity. However, only a fraction of what Jordan imagined ended up on the page, the rest going into his personal files. Now The Wheel of Time Companion sheds light on some of the most intriguing aspects of this fantasy world, including biographies and motivations of many characters that never made it into the books, but helped bring Jordan's world to life. Included in the volume in an A-to-Z format are: an entry for each named character; an inclusive dictionary of the Old Tongue; new maps of the Last Battle; new portraits of many characters; histories and customs of the nations of the world; the strength level of many channelers; descriptions of the flora and fauna unique to the world; and much more.
Publisher: New York : Tor, 2015
Edition: 1st ed
ISBN: 9780765314611
Characteristics: 815 p. : ill. ; 25 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Dec 26, 2018

The Wheel of Time Companion fills you in on many details of the people, places and things in the Wheel of Time Series. It also gives you information that Robert Jordan had in his notes but that didn't actually make it into the books.
I'd recommend looking at this guide after you finish reading the series or at least until you read all the ones you want to read. Like the book says, "There are SPOILERS in here. Tread lightly, novices."
I can't think of a better place to review the series, so I'll do it here.

Broadly, The Wheel of Time is a good vs evil story. The main characters come from a small farming village and eventually after going on some adventures learn that they all need to defeat the evil of the world: The Dark One, or else all humanity is doomed. Rand al'Thor is probably the most central character in the series, though his friends, Matrim Cauthon, Egwene al'Vere and Perrin Aybarra are also main characters. Most WOT fans agree that the the first 6 books are good and that books 7-11 slow down. Robert Jordan passed away in 2007 so author Brandon Sanderson finished the series by writing books 12-14. You may find the two authors writing style very different, but I personally find Sanderson's writing style easier to understand. All of the Wheel of Time books are long and it takes time and patience to get through them. But it's very doable! (I read all 15 in less than a year).
The Wheel of Time introduces many, many characters and some I liked, some I wanted to like, and others I could not stand. Robert Jordan's portrayal of women is angering and it might annoy you (at least I found it annoying) as he spends so much time on what they're wearing. For female characters that are supposed to be strong, they come off as kind of stupid. (Some of them, anyways).
The characters do have their own made up curses, though this series has very little "real' swearing. The swearing can be considered mild or similar to "biblical swearing."
There are some sex scenes between some characters and there are sexual innuendos. Most of these scenes are very short and none of them are very dragged out. Like I mentioned in one the reviews of these books, you might miss it if you're not reading carefully. There's also plenty of fighting and battle scenes, and these can get a little gory at times.
But, The Wheel of Time series does have some positive messages and the characters can be pretty funny. The series touches on themes of loyalty, friendship, trust, love, duty, torture, pain, insanity and responsibility. I think these books are some of the best in the high fantasy genre and I think most readers can agree that they're interesting, emotional and engaging.

These are the books in order:
0). New Spring (Prequel)
1). The Eye of The World
2). The Great Hunt
3). The Dragon Reborn
4). The Shadow Rising
5). The Fires of Heaven
6). Lord of Chaos
7). A Crown of Swords
8). The Path of Daggers
9). Winter's Heart
10). Crossroads of Twilight
11). Knife of Dreams
12). The Gathering Storm
13). Towers of Midnight
14). A Memory of Light

You might ask, are The Wheel of Time books good? Well, that's up to you to read and decide.


Add a Summary
Dec 26, 2018



Add Notices
Dec 26, 2018

Other: Story Spoilers!


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at CALS

To Top