Mick Harte Was Here

Mick Harte Was Here

Book
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
4

An award-winning, heartrending young middle grade novel from Barbara Park--the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Junie B. Jones series--just right for readers of Frindle, Love That Dog, The Lemonade War, and other classic young middle grade favorites.

Kids aren't supposed to die.

Phoebe's brother, Mick, was one of the funniest, coolest kids you'd ever meet--the kid who made you laugh until your stomach hurt, even if you were mad at him. The kid who freaked his and Phoebe's mom out by putting a ceramic eye in a defrosted chicken; who went trick-or-treating as Thomas Crapper, the inventor of the modern-day flush toilet; who did a wild solo dance in front of the entire school. He was the kid you'd want to be friends with. So how can he be gone? And how will Phoebe's family survive without him?

Winner of 12 State Awards!
An IRA-CBC Young Adults' Choice
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

* "Genius . . . excruciatingly real . . . powerful." -- Publishers Weekly, starred

"[A] wrenching story permeated with humor and hope." -- School Library Journal

For the Review section (please add the two reviews and the state awards below):
"A very moving story about a terrific 12-year-old boy. By the end of the book, readers miss him, too." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Park skillfully interweaves humor and pain in this unique, utterly believable account of Phoebe's attempt to cope with a heartbreaking loss." -- The Horn Book

WINNER --Georgia Children's Book Award
WINNER --Connecticut Nutmeg Book Award
WINNER --Kansas William Allen White Children's Book Award
WINNER --North Dakota Flicker Tale Children's Book Award
WINNER --Rhode Island Children's Book Award
WINNER --South Carolina Children's Book Award
WINNER --Vermont Dorothy Canfield Fisher Book Award
WINNER --Illinois Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' Book Award
WINNER --Indiana Young Hoosier Book Award
WINNER --Iowa Children's Choice Award
WINNER --Minnesota Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award
NOMINEE --Washington Evergreen Young Adult Book Award
WINNER --Kentucky Bluegrass Master List

Edition: PB
ISBN: 9780679882039

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
muffinpopcorn
Oct 23, 2017

Excellent story , really likes this one . Her books are mostly all good , but this one was exceptional . Really like the ending and what Phoebe did for her brother at the end of the book . This was one of those books you hate to see end because it is so well written.

n
Nakkid
Feb 16, 2014

I remember we were forced to read this book as a class in 2nd grade (a little more than 9 years ago). But within the first chapter, I remember falling in love with it. At first, I was excited when I saw that it was written by Barbara Parks (one of my favorite authors of all times). But I quickly realized that this was no Junie B. Jones novel. This story is very heart-wrenching and melancholy, and it introduces the importance of helmets to children in a very straightforward and dramatic way. But despite the heavy atmosphere, the writing and narration is done very beautifully. Don't read this if you're wanting something cheerful, funny, and/or upbeat. But DO read this because it consists of beautiful prose, discusses an important topic that is often overlooked, and because overall it is a gorgeous novel.

ARSang Dec 04, 2011

This book is suitable for children 8+

a
angeye87
Sep 06, 2011

I read this a LONG time ago. But it was a great book

Age

Add Age Suitability
r
red_snake_1011
Feb 05, 2015

red_snake_1011 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

n
Nakkid
Feb 16, 2014

Nakkid thinks this title is suitable for 9 years and over

r
red_rabbit_220
Feb 19, 2013

red_rabbit_220 thinks this title is suitable for 8 years and over

u
unJoCo
May 07, 2011

unJoCo thinks this title is suitable for 10 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

  Loading...

Find it at CALS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top