The Feng Shui Detective

The Feng Shui Detective

Book - 2004
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Mr. Wong is a feng shui consultant, but his cases tend to involve a lot more than just interior decoration. You see, Wong specializes in a certain type of problem premises: crime scenes. He and his brash teenage Aussie-American ex-pat intern (think an Asian Sherlock Holmes paired up with Kelly Osbourne) travel around Singapore solving crimes while trying to decipher each other's language and behavior. His latest case involves a mysterious young woman who, according to a psychic reading, is doomed to die. Wong's desperate efforts to save her eventually lead him and his sidekick to Sydney where the story climaxes at the Opera House, a building known for its appalling feng shui. A delightful combination of crafty plotting, quirky humor, and Asian philosophy, the Feng Shui Detective is an investigator like no other!
Publisher: New York : Thomas Dunne Books, 2004
Edition: 1st U.S. ed
ISBN: 9780312320591
Characteristics: 279 p. ; 22 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

CRRL_MegRaymond Feb 12, 2018

C.F. Wong is a Feng Shui master. His work requires silence and cannot be rushed. But now he has an intern who talks non-stop, a cell phone that keeps ringing, and a murder to solve.

May 29, 2017

Interesting concept for a detective story, Feng Shui seemed to be replaced more by common sense than mystical things but an interesting cast of characters.

bookfanatic1979 May 28, 2013

This is what I like to call a “common sense” mystery. Rather than one huge case that monopolizes the story, there are several small cases that require thought and common sense to solve. Fans of Agatha Christie and Alexander McCall-Smith might want to try these.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at CALS

To Top